terrible picture, but there's a story.

Just after 8:30pm and at home.

At 4:45am, I was up with the wee-estWeir doing the necessary changing and feeding. Of him. Then it was my turn. Two bowls of porridge [sic, porrage] and a bowl of ride pudding later, I was togged up, supplied up and ready to go. Mrs theWeir waved me away and I cycled the three miles down to Pitlochry and joined the throng waiting for the start of the Etapé Caledonia.

81 miles lay ahead of the thousands who were due to take part. Which included this boy from West Lothian who'd never done anything like this before and was heading out alone among the masses.

I sneaked a slightly earlier start and at 6:38, I was away, off, pedalling, moving, going.

Watching people jostle for position, seeing groups chaining together and trying to work out what (if anything) the etiquette might be.

Before I knew it, I was moving up and down the groups and we were at mile 15. The climbs were pretty straight forward, but I really needed to get some confidence for the downhill corners. Many of those people I overtook on the climb went past me on the downs.

Undaunted, were we soon past the first feed station and on to the Time Trail. I was part of a fairly well paced group (let's not be poncy and call it a peleton just yet) and didn't want to push too hard on the "sprint" section. Just kept up with the group. Easing off the pace to open the banana that I'd forgotten to eat at the start didn't seem like a good plan, so I opened the first gel and kept drinking.

A few more ups and downs and the groups were splitting up, so I tried to stay with the first set. And then realised I needed to eat more. Opened the jelly blocks.

We were getting close to half way and the turn, the weather had been brilliant - not real wind, no rain. Nothing too shabby at all.

One of the great memories I have is cycling along in a reasonably quick group and being able to enjoy the view on the left of Loch Rannoch, the distant hills dusted with snow. We were probably pacing about 22 miles an hour and because of the draft, it wasn't taking a stupid amount of effort. Amazing.

At times the groups got busy as later starters were looking to come through - when the roads narrowed, it could be a little hairy, but there was generally no hassle.

By mile 60 I had found the regulars that I exchanged places with over the first two thirds of the route and then came the big climb. At first it was pretty straight forward, but I was concerned I was pushing too hard so eased off. Which was just as well as Schiehallion just kept on going. 6.5 miles of it.

Then, after a quick pitstop, back down the other side and more of those people I'd overtaken went past. But that was okay, I got a few of them when we flattened out/found some more hills.

Onto the wee dog-leg section and I made the mistake of striking out alone after I'd caught a group that I felt weren't going quick enough (or politely enough) for my tastes. They reeled me back in and then cut me off with some ignominy. I think I was tiring by that point and I should have taken the chance to chain gang with them and refuel rather than going it alone.

But you live and learn!

The last 15 miles were tough. Much of it was alone, but I did catch a couple of guys up and we had a nice wee group together for a few miles before some of pulled away and then I lost the others when a faster group overtook us and I just couldn't keep in with them for long enough.

The final six was where the mind games really started. I knew I was well ahead of my schedule and could walk the rest of it if I wanted. But I also wanted to keep pushing. The undulating roads didn't help - climb, descent, climb, descent, climb, descent after 3hrs and 45 minutes. A mile out, with no-one close behind and a couple in the front 10 meters or so, I sent a message to the rest of TeamWeir to warn of my imminent arrival and before I knew it - I was there.

Across the line.

Done.

Finished.

Hearing and seeing Mrs theWeir and the weeWeir cheering me over the line was amazing. There were tears for my Grandad. But smiles for the grace that made it possible.

£725 raised for Marie Curie Cancer Care and Alzheimer's Scotland (before gift-aid and employer matching).

Official time: 3.59:13.

Moving time: 3:53:17.

A massive thank you for everyone who gave money. Thank you to those who gave us accommodation when we were up there.

The biggest thank you to my beautiful wife who let me out for training rides and put up with pasta for more meals that we care to remember in the last two weeks. And looked after the bairns for the morning while I pedalled like a daftie.

Next year, anyone?

Grace and peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.