A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

The dark side

I have heard it said that a classic is a book that everybody wants to have read but nobody wants to read. And I have been pretty much in that category myself so I decided to do something about it.

Thus I finally caved in and decided to get a Kindle with some John Lewis vouchers I have been hoarding. One of the things which sold it to me is that you can get books for free if they have gone out of copyright. I quickly demolished A Christmas Carol (enjoyed it very much and will try some more Dickens soon) and have got stuck into Waverley, part of which you can see here. Lots of people warned me about Scott but I didn't listen. And I am glad I didn't as I am really enjoying this. Okay, he certainly does like words and the more the merrier and so far (about a fifth of the way through the book) nothing has really happened but it hasn't happened in a rather witty and entertaining way and I am keen to find out what may become of our hero Edward. It's probably not for everyone right enough but it is definitely for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.