bucks life

By bucksmiss

Another long day

Mondays have suddenly become too long. What with work plus 3 hours of digital photography class. But I really want to understand what I'm doing and how to use my camera better so I need to muster my strength for the next 8 weeks.

Work was frustrating today, largely because I prevaricated and did relatively straight forward jobs (though they were all urgent) and put off something til tomorrow that I'd promised someone I'd do today.

(I have this horrible habit of doing this. Pushing things too far, rebelling, living close to the edge and brazenly breaking promises I've made to others and myself for no good reason. Ok, I'm getting better at not doing it. For example, at the weekend I did quite a lot of chores when I thought about them instead of later on in the day as I often do.)

So I grew more cross with myself during the day and then everything became annoying. Now I need to go in super early tomorrow to do the job before I'm found out...Serves me right. When will I learn. I'm 44 for goodness sake!

It was a relief to leave at 5pm and to drive straight to photography (though it took too long owing to an accident necessitating a detour). The tutor started slowly but picked up and today was all about the interplay between shutter speed, aperture and film speed. I originally learned this stuff back in 1993 on a course in b&w photography and dark room processing on an SLR but since I haven't owned a manual camera since about 1996 it's all very hazy. I hope it'll start to click again as I start practising using manual mode now.

I got back to find my lodger having organised all our food for tomorrow for the diet we're both starting. If he hadn't have done it there's no way I'd have had the energy to organise myself, so he is a life saver as I really didn't want to delay the start.

After all that, I'm so exhausted and today was so non-stop that I took zero photos so here's a sneaky peek at my bedside table...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.