History man

Fell out of the bus this morning straight into a collection of second hand books for sale at St Andrew's and St George's West church in George Street. I'm sure this has already been covered elsewhere in blip but it was too good an opportunity to pass up and saved me hunting for an image later in the day.

The sale is on until Friday 17 May and all the money it raises goes to support Christian Aid. Since it started 40 yeas ago it has raised over £2m. I wonder what will happen to the sale when e-books and dongles have replaced the book. Will they ever replace the book? Can you stop a table wobbling by placing a dongle under the leg, can you jam a door open with a Kindle? I think not.

The history man asked if I wanted anything in particular and I did ask if he could colour co-ordinate the books on display. He laughed and left. That'll be a 'NO' then.

So that's why the photograph is in mono.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.