Tricolour

A walk through Princes Street Gardens this morning on my way to work turned up this photograph. Apart from the peace and quiet the gardens afforded an interesting view of the Solomon's Seal (polygonatum biflorum) set against the Japanese Maple (Acer palmatum - Dissectum Atropurpureum) which in turn is set against the Azalea in the background. The early morning dew was slowly being burned off by the sun as it slowly arched upwards towards noon and the dew sat like little diamonds on the leaves of the Solomon's Seal.

The tranquility and my lyrical musings were soon broken by the rattle of suitcase wheels on tarmac as the tourists, on being disgorged from the Airport buses, spread out in search of their hotels. Time to leave.

Apparently Solomon's Seal is a medicinal plant with diverse healing properties for a variety of ailments, most of which I'd rather not go into detail about on here. Despite its many healing qualities the berries, leaves and stem of the plant are poisonous - go figure that one out.

In the meantime I think I'll just stick with my green tea to be on the safe side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.