TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

A Farewell to Paule

This has to be my last message from the Weser Uplands - for the coming weeks. Fortunately, in spite of the ongoing bad weather, our patience was rewarded late in the afternoon. As soon as it was dry again we made our last walk around downhill, uphill. To say goodbye to Paule and his two horse friends near the ruins of the big Eisenbahnerheim. Its a steep way up there and to our astonishment the whole wild garden was empty. No horse to be found. Whistling, calling, all in vain. They even hadn’t taken shelter in the stables. Probably they will be staying in their summer-meadows. We will have to look them up next time in the future.

It was just around the corner of their empty stables, that I saw in the incoming sunlight between two trees, growing on that crooked wall: long “Ragged Robins”, growing between the moss and the ivy. And I thought: this is the most unnoticible corner of the world. You would overlook it in passing by. Why on earth would you ever visit this ruined estate? Once a proud, luxurious residence for railway-employees of the Deutsche Bahn. Long time ago.

No-thing of any interest to discover here anymore, especially around the corner of that old stable. Only a few locals know the surroundings, have a garden opposite. Everything is in decline here. But in that rare spot of sunlight suddenly the beauty of this micro-universe struck me. Was I looking for some-thing to fill up the gap, the emptiness of disappointing absence of Paule? Perhaps. I did take pictures nearby from other positions, out for different views. But this corner of almost nothing, I had never noticed myself. It was the intermediating sunlight in the background that drew my attention. Something reached out from the intertwinement here/there: Hey...

This is how you can describe the way in which the invisible makes itself visible from within. Somehow I felt connected to this corner - the turning point of our last walk around - did I listen if the horses were still inside their stable to keep dry? I don’t know. Well, perhaps, it’s a kind of leaving my Ragged Robins there on the stable wall as a farewell to our big friend Paule and his comrads. Hope to see you next time, anywhere!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.