Shiney and noo.

Look how shiney and noo my noo bike part is. I call it a 'part' cos i don't know what it is.

I thought i should get a bike service as this weekend my friend and I are taking part in the 'Sky ride' it's 30 miles so I thought a service was a good idea. It has needed one really because it did the coast to coast of 140 miles or so 3 years ago, then its pedaled for scotland twice, Glasgow to Edinburgh, and cycled the solway which was a very modern 100k. In miles - no idea. In between these planned and scheduled rides its done some training runs of 15 - 20 miles a time. So its done some miles since its last service so bless, it deserved a bit of oil - i thought!

The chap that did it was very reasonably priced so i left my beloved bike on saturday and he said it be ready tuesday. He gave his price for service and informed me if it needed anything that would be extra.

My friend collected my bike as I was busy. It needed extra! So tonight I went to collect my bike from my friends. We would put it in the car, back seats down, parcel shelf removed, front passenger seat as far forward as it would go, driver seat in the most upright position it would go then one more turn of the dial to give just further forward. (I wasn"t quite bent double when driving but i was very straight.) "This will go in the car" my friend announced confidently! It does because its been in before but I don't remember how. "It's in, told you it would go in" she exclaimed. I told her it was at her end but the handle bars were out of the rear passenger side door. With a bit more pushing and shoving we did get it in. Much laughter and oil on face!

So my bike is back home in the garage, with its new part, waiting for Sunday all shiney and noo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.