my life is a fiesta

By fiestadecox

Humble Pie

I have an eleven year old sister who just returned from India. She researched costs, devised a budget, planned fundraisers, sacrificed presents and weekend activities, and planned diligently for 14 months in order to spend Christmas at an orphanage in India. The focus, patience, and humility that she's shown throughout 2009 actually prompted an entirely new faith journey of my own. Kayce's path to India was anything but smooth, but she deflected criticisms a wisdom and grace that I've never encountered in someone so young.

I'm thrilled her trip happened. She ministered to the children in a way that even the most loving adults cannot. The children were mesmerized by her - they'd never seen an American child. Her fair skin and light hair were a major attraction. Despite the language barrier, she could sit and play for hours and hours, prompting laughter and happiness. She has this same effect in my own house, but I don't appreciate it as much as I should.

On Christmas day she wrapped and passed out the gifts she brought for the children - Yo-yos, inflatable balls, and glow-in-the-dark necklaces. Two littles showed their gratitude by giving Kayce henna tattoos on her feet and hands that evening. They're not as elaborate or descript as the ones I've seen on my friends before their weddings, but knowing that sweet little hands created their BEST drawings as an act of sheer gratitude just melts my heart.

Do I offer my best when I'm thankful? Do I love beyond language (or attitude) differences? Do I focus on my goals and see them through, even in times of difficulty and sacrifice?

I'm so pleased that Kayce invited me along on her faith journey.

BackBlip: Feliz Navidad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.