my life is a fiesta

By fiestadecox

Adventure Days

I love "Adventure Days" with these girls. They're always fun. They're always filled with laughter. They always end too quickly. And we never end up doing what we set out to do. :)

On this particular "Adventure Day" we slept in until 10:30am (Jesus really does love me.) Next up were our homemade McGriddle inventions (whole wheat pancake mix, maple extract, cinnamon, Splenda, and sausage crumbles). Then we set out for campus. I'm going to miss the Baylor campus immensely after we leave, so I'm happy to spend as much time as possible making memories there as we can manage before June....

Our campus explorations involved surveying the construction at the Bear Pit, pillaging the KOT Christmas tree for some souvenir ornaments, climbing the trees next to the SUB and reading the story of the Immortal Ten (I really love the new relief sculpture), sneaking into the marina so the girls could see the boats, and walking across the Brazos on the new bridge between the athletic complex and the Mayborn.

I have always resolved to NOT be one of the parents in the hallway talking on the phone while their kids played alone in the discovery room. That resolve is a thing of the past now. After 3 hours of play, I caved. It wasn't the three hours - it was the fact that in 3 hours the girls had only visited FOUR rooms. It was the 65 minutes in the water room that finally broke me. I was ashamed. For about 20 seconds...

Adventure Day concluded with a trip to Gatesville to ride the new go cart. Caroline rode like a maniac. Kayce rode with her hands and 10-and2 - "just like I learned at Safety City on my 3rd grade field trip." I may need to look this "Safety City" up. I'm not convinced Caro will survive to see her 3rd grade field trip.



BackBlip: Humble Pie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.