2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

That'll do

I don't get to run in my Club vest anything like as much as I would like.

Tonight was an inter club race.

Each month in the summer 6 clubs take it in turns to host a race of no more than 5 miles. Ours is exactly 5 miles.

The rivalry is friendly and the chat over sandwiches and beer afterwards is always good.

For a change on this course we had bright sunshine and little breeze. Conditions were brilliant.

I raced against a friend I hadn't seen in a while and we forced each other to run faster than we intended.

I broke from him just before the finish but I could feel him gaining. His club mate urged him to pass me.

His reply was wonderful "Not after the way he's helped me tonight"
I told him he should have passed me because he had also helped me.

We both got a lot of satisfaction from our 40 minutes 27 seconds.

It's not the 34:17 that I have run on this course. But I'm not as young as I was then either.

So all in all it's been a good night. That'll do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.