Moonset!

A rare clear morning. For the first time in seven months I was able to capture a near-full moonset. The mountains were crisp with snow, but they were out the other way.

While I was out photographing the moon a brilliantly coloured hot air balloon hung in the air above me, just high enough to catch the rising sun. They would have had a magnificent view of the moon from there, setting behind the beautiful snow-clad mountains south of the Rakaia River. I can’t see them from here because of the hills.

This is a single shot image. I have tweaked the contrasts, but not altered the size of the moon compared with the land. Other moonsets here.

Thank you to all the lovely people who visited my five year blip yesterday. I’m thrilled by the response.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.