882

Mr T taking his last launch of the day. I had to go to church Stretton this morning so after I'd finished my shopping there I drove up the hill onto the Long Mynd to join T for lunch. The day was absolutely gorgeous and the flying field very busy as there was a competition going on with some gliders flying in from other Clubs; alot from Nympsfield, Glos. T was manning the control tower (trailer!!) for quite a long spell to receive phone calls and take down GPS locations, lat and long etc. from any pilots who hadn't been able to make it back to the Mynd and landed out in a field (hopefully), so I kept him company and we sat in the sun and had a picnic. One such call was from a pilot who had landed in a field somewhere near Leominster so T had to organise a retrieve crew to take a car and glider trailer and go find him and once found pack the glider up and bring them back to the Mynd. I've been on some retrieves and its very exciting trying to work out exacty where the poor pilot has got caught out. The tradition is that a pilot who lands out has to buy the retrieve crew dinner!! Having finished his stint in the control tower T was able to get one more flight in - hope he didn't land out!! Lots of hang gliders out today too on the other side of the hill. Its a beautiful sight.

I'm not staying with T up at the Club tonight and have come home as we are off on holiday on Wednesday so tomorrow is my last day to try to get organised?! Its band practise tomorrow night too so I'd better get practising and then I have to go to work on Monday and Tuesday. Really looking forward to a holiday ....... 11 days, Scotland and the Orkneys - what bliss.





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.