todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

New vs. New

Having enjoyed a number of blips of the new extension to the Glasgow School of Art, especially this one from Louie Louie , I decided to blip it for myself today.

I'm not a great photographer anyway, but I struggled to find a view, angle or indeed anything about the new Reid building that pleased my camera lens.

I couldn't help being drawn to the building across the street - today's blip - designed by Rennie Mackintosh himself.

Part of the Art Nouveau movement and, by definition, the epitome of forward thinking design, it's last century's equivalent of its neighbour's new modern design.

But with its simple yet striking design and soft, clean lines, for me, the Mackintosh building continues to dominate the street.

Give me this old new over the new new any day!

Today outof10? A classic 8.9 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.