SPREADING LOVE

First of all, thank you to everyone who left a comment yesterday and also stars and hearts on my 500th Blip Day - I felt so humbled and hope I have responded to everyone - I decided if I wasn't going to comment very much, it wouldn't be yesterday, but it did mean I was up until well past midnight!!

Today I was up bright and early and decided to go to Christchurch on the bus to attend a service at Christchurch Christian Centre. I was made very welcome - in fact, the Assistant Minister who was leading the service told me he and his family used to live in Swindon - what a small world!

This former Congregational/United Reformed Church, the subject of my blip today, was built in 1866, on the site of an earlier Congregational Church, which dated from 1660. It is now an Elim Church and appears to be very lively - they had a good Worship Group, I learned some new songs and the sermon was good.

As some of you know, not only do I blip every day but all through Lent - and ever since - for a total of 66 days so far, I have put a Post-It note up somewhere and taken a photograph to go on my Facebook page and also on my Flickr page.

I had to chuckle today, because the ladies toilet at the church has obviously been created from part of the actual church and there is a memorial tablet just above the sink which commemorates a Pastor of the church from 1908 to 1917, one Henry Coley, a former missionary with the London Missionary Society, who died in 1917. I wonder what his "affectionate and grateful people" would say if they could see where the plaque is situated now - and I also wonder whether I would be in trouble for putting my Post-It on there?

Spread love everywhere you go.
Let no one ever come to you
without leaving happier.
Mother Teresa

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.