WHAT A JOURNEY!

I'm not as creative as some blippers who do absolutely wonderful things for their special blip days but I wanted to mark my 500th blip birthday with something that included 500. So I began my search and it ended in this family jewellers, Geo. A. Payne & Sons Ltd in Christchurch Road, Boscombe.

I went in and spoke to Sara Payne, the wife of the owner, and said I had a great favour to ask. I then explained about blipping and told her that it was my 500th blip birthday. I said there was a ring in the window that cost exactly £500 so would they be really really kind and allow me to blip it, although I didn't actually want to buy it - how cheeky is that? Well, I am a firm believer in what you don't ask for, you don't get!

I doubt any of the chain jewellers would have allowed this but after speaking to her husband, Sara kindly offered to put the ring into a box and put it under a decent light, where the valuations were done.

So here is a secondhand, or I prefer to call it pre-loved, amethyst and diamond ring set in 18 carat gold - I wonder what story this ring has to tell?

Looking back over the last 500 days it's been quite a journey for me - in fact, I still can't believe I have taken a photograph and written a journal for all that time and not missed a single day! I've really enjoyed the discipline of looking for something to blip each day, and then find words to fit - and this has brought out my creative streak, which had lain dormant for so long. I have been so encouraged by other blipper's comments, and comments from friends on Facebook, and have been blessed by all the new friends I've made here.

I have had some great blip meets, with a few more in the pipeline, and have even stayed with blippers in Somerset and on Guernsey and, of course, the long-suffering Mr. HCB came too. He has enjoyed all that blip has brought to him and bought lots of Channel Islands books from another blipper, so that was a bonus!

I am still undecided how I will move forward from this auspicious day because as much as I enjoy blipping, it does take time but I will always be grateful for what I have gained in the last 500 days. So thank you very much, everyone - you're a fantastic group of people and my life is richer for knowing you all. M xx

“Weigh whatever you are about to say;
what will it do to your hearer -
encouragement, edification, disappointment or fear?
What will it do to your life -
glorify, edify, beautify or weigh you down?
Speak well and things will go well.”
Jaachynma N.E. Agu
The Prince and the Pauper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.