Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Thinking about Journaling

The morning began with a gentle breeze, a crystal clear view, and warm temperatures. The photo above reveals what we saw as we stepped onto the patio.

Yesterday, the first day of the year, was about friends and re-connecting . . . acknowledging the holiday, celebrating, enjoying the new beginning, and having a good time.

Today I am thinking about journaling . . . I've always encouraged my friends, my family, my students to journal. I've journaled through lots of my adult life, but this afternoon I spent some moments looking back through my recorded-computer stored journals, back to 1991. I've rediscovered what I knew would be true . . . too many times I skipped too many days.

If you know me, you know that I like memories--I savor them, treasure them, and store them up. Everyday creates a new memory. Most of my memories fall in line to join the parade of all the other memories that have been previously created.

Occasionally a memory resists blending in, then I classify it as a snapshot that required a flash. A few of those happened this past year, most recently at the December wedding, and then seeing the professional photographer's photo that captured me blipping (embarrassing).

I'm so glad that God gave us the capacity to remember--it has a medicinal quality that comforts and heals.

In my 1993 journal, mid-year I captured this thought, "Looking through my latest 'Quality Paperback Book Club Review' I read this quote, 'All that preceded us and all that comes after depend on us. What we do matters so powerfully that to evade our responsibilities is to call down chaos.' The review says this is the fabric of Australian Aboriginal 'Dreaming Laws.' They use it with their write up about Wisdom of The Elders by David Suzuki."

Then I went on to write several paragraphs about that 1993 day with grandkids, who were toddlers at the time. Our granddaughters were playing "house" with Barbies and our grandson could hardly place the pieces on a puzzle. Then, I concluded that journal entry by repeating that quote: "All that preceded us and all that comes after depend on us. What we do matters so powerfully that to evade our responsibilities is to call down chaos." I like the way that sounds and think maybe it's true.

This past year, well, I didn't miss a day journaling. Thank YOU Blipfoto. Without this site I am sure I would have skipped days. Last January 5, I made a commitment to myself--that was the day I discovered Blipfoto (when I googled looking for a place to journal/to blog--I joined without even knowing what I was getting into)--so I posted a photo and a quick few words. A fairly simple post at best.

Immediately I found encouragers . . . cheerleaders from all around the globe. My goodness . . . people I didn't even know, cared that I was posting each day. Well . . .

. . . because of that encouragement, my family's year is recorded. I honestly can say as I thumb through the pages of my blip journal I do remember everyday.

Those are just some thoughts as this New Year begins. Too many words I'm sure, so if you are still reading, wow--thanks. Well, from this Southern California "Fun" house, all is well as we kiss this Saturday afternoon goodbye and we are hoping the same is true for you too.

Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. Almost forgot to mention that my friend started blipping today, and now her other half is blipping too! If you have time, please welcome them.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.