Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Lit Leaves

Another long country walk was the order of the day, to exercise the dogs we're looking after and to enjoy the beautiful sunshine.

I took about three dozen photo's on the way around. It's funny, but often I know as I'm taking a photo that IT is the one I'll use for my blip. I took ones of rolling countryside, the dogs, streams, and old ruins - yet I choose some leaves!

The stream one does look nice. It's here if you want to look.

Trellech is a beautiful village and one we visit often. It's got quite a history.

Here's the meaning of the name:

Trellech (occasionally spelt Trelech, Treleck or Trelleck) (Modern Welsh: Tryleg) is a village in Monmouthshire, south-east Wales, near Monmouth and the location of an archaeological site. The village is designated as a Conservation Area. The village gives its name to the community of Trellech United, in which the village is situated.

The name of the village derives from the Welsh language and means either "the town (tre) of slates (llech)" or "three (tri) slates (llech)". There are three standing stones in the village, known as Harold's Stones. There are 26 known spellings for the village, including those mentioned above which can be found on road signs at three of the six entrances into the village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.