Coming and going

Yesterday's light fall of snow didn't thaw at all, so the local streets were still white-covered this morning. I poked my head out for a quick unscientific test and decided it didn't seem too bad, and certainly not bad enough to confine me to barracks, so I wrapped up warm and walked up to the Malahide Road to see if it was clear and if buses were running. It was, and they were, which meant there was no reason not to go to today's music session. By the time 12.15 came round I'd actually decided that there was no need to face the possibly long wait standing around for a bus, so I drove.

As expected, the turnout was small, but still we had a good session. Our host opened a bottle of bubbly which we enjoyed during the 30-minute presentation which wrapped things up, and then it was time to return home and batten the hatches in preparation for the night freeze we'd been told to expect. I didn't set foot outside again, just rested, napped, listened to music and watched a bit of dreadfully ordinary TV. I should have watched another couple of episodes of Life on Mars, but didn't. I'll save that for tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.