Old and new

My old dressing gown has served me well over the past ten and a half years, but its days have been numbered for some time now, principally because of unmanageable fraying of its belt. I've been thinking and talking about replacing it since well before Christmas, and the day of retirement finally came around last week as part of a bit of an after-Christmas shopping session.

I'd looked at some possibilities while doing Christmas shopping, but nothing I saw seemed quite right, but when I came across this nicely elegant maroon and navy and grey striped number I knew the looking was over. It's since proved as nice to wear as it is to look at, and I have to admit that there've been some days when I haven't got around to changing out of it.

Now it's just a matter of doing away with the old one, which will be quite hard to do, since it was a gift which has pleasant memories associated with it. Ah well, times change and we move on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.