WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Rich, David & Goliath

I met Rich & Dave at Stanage Edge in the Peak District today. They were climbing for the weekend and I was joining in for a little dabble on the rock followed by a walk on Sunday.

Rich and I used to climb together a lot and at one time, when we lived in Milton Keynes, we had a mission to climb at least one route outdoors every month of the year. We kept it up for 23 months but I refused the 24th on a number of grounds. Firstly, it was mid-winter and the weather on the available weekend was truly vile. Secondly, climbing lacks the same appeal when the rock is wet or icy and your fingers are so cold you have no idea whether you are gripping anything or not (this was happening all too frequently!) And thirdly, if we hit 2 years, we were more likely to need to continue for a third and I needed some variety back. Rich was remarkably amenable.

It is good to look back and think that we kept it going through a couple of pretty mean winters and it kept us out of Milton Keynes. But, I'm glad we moved on to other things - including moving back north.

I climb perhaps two or three times a year now (in the sunshine), still enjoying being on the rock on these occasions and still preferring the safe end of the rope.

Today, I seconded Wall End Holly Tree Crack and this route, Goliath's Groove.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.