Journey Through Time

By Sue

Invasion!!

We had a full on baby starling invasion today. I suppose this has happened before, but I've never seen it in person in our backyard. In past years they could have been there, but if the invasion only lasts one afternoon, I must have been away at the time. But this year, I got in on the action. There were quite a few fledglings out and about and a whole lot of squawking going on. I looked on line to ID the babies, and sure enough...starlings. Look how pretty that marking is around the eye.

I went to the library today thinking it opened at noon. Nope, 1 p.m., and it was 12:30 so I had a bit of time to kill so I wandered down the mall. We have a little branch library in the mall, which is really convenient for me. Anyway, I ended up at Christopher and Banks, which has nice clothes and a lot of their styles appeal to women of a certain age (older). I found a basic striped 3/4 sleeve length t-top in a nice brushed fabric. $21.95. Okay, sold. Then I got to the counter and the lady says, well, if you buy two, they are $12 each. Two for $24.00 plus tax. (Read the big signs by the product, Sue!) SOLD! So I went and found another color and added something new to my summer wardrobe.

Then back to the library and turned in my book (Anne Perry Victorian mystery) and picked up my new book, Allegiant. I read Divergent, part one of the three part series which is Young Adult fiction, but I don't care. I read Harry Potter and I read Hunger Games, so by gosh, I'll read the Divergent series. The only thing is, I have been on the waiting list for weeks and weeks to get - THE WRONG BOOK. I ended up with book 3, Allegiant, and I need book 2, Insurgent. Well, crud. So, I went on line to the library and put the correct book on hold....I am 157th with 3 books in the system. Well, crud. Back to waiting weeks and weeks. I don't want to buy the books, so I'll just be patient. AGAIN! But I do have a good book to read, which I just started. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce which is a UK author. I am glad a friend recommended this book. It looks to be a lovely read.

Then I went to buy my hairspray at JCPenney and they were having a 30% off sale and with my retired associate discount the $15.00 product came to $8.00. SCORE! So, I feel good about my "deals", and very sad about mixing up the book titles. Such is life.

Back to my book. See ya.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.