Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

MonoMonday - Entrances and Exits

This is Anglican Christchurch Cathedral from the entrance to it's grounds and you can also see the entrance to the Cathedral. I am sure it has seen a few entrances and exits in it's time.

The church, designed by John Horbury Hunt in the Gothic Revival style, is located on The Hill and has fabulous views over the harbour.

The Cathedral was completed and consecrated in 1902 and replaced an existing church. The tower was not added until 1979. The building was damaged during an earthquake in 1989 and was repaired at great expense. The one thing I remember after driving back to Newcastle from Sydney on the day of the earthquake after worrying all the way up whether my house was damaged or not and seeing this Cathedral lit up high on the hill and I though well it is still standing so everything must be OK. How wrong I was, but that's another story.

Now I am seriously gobsmacked at the response to the sunrise yesterday. I always think it is a privilege to be out when Mother Nature is doing her thing. I really appreciate all the kind comments etc and I do plan to thank people individually but for the time being, please accept a huge collective thanks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.