Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Homeward Bound

The result of the Hamilton Academical v Falkirk SPFL play-off match made me more disappointed than I was expecting (Hamilton won 1-0). It was a game I had hoped, rather than expected, the Bairns would win and I suppose my feelings were no different to supporters of other teams who fell at the last (or in our case last-but-one) hurdle this weekend - Dundee United, Dunfermline, Hull City and Barcelona to name just a few. But, nevertheless, I was surprised how 'down' I felt at the end of the match.

Anyway, rather than drive straight home with feelings of anti-climax looming over me, I decided to stop off in Croy and have a walk up Croy Hill since it was a pleasant spring evening. My last attempt at this short uphill walk (in February) was ended by a hailstorm so I was confident of better luck this time.

Croy Hill lies on the route of the Antonine Wall and, as you can see in the photo, there is a good preserved section of the Roman ditch still intact - the poor soldiers had to cut through rock to build their defences here - although little else on Croy Hill is left from the time of their occupation.

After reaching the top - it's a short and relatively easy walk - I continued on eastwards for a few hundred metres before returning to the summit on my homeward journey. It was a quite fortunate diversion as it turned out, as the pictures taken from the summit second time around had the bonus of two other walkers on the horizon. Just an extra little detail to add to the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.