The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

In the forest....

....well, that's maybe taking a bit of artistic licence. It was actually in Redhills Wood in Arnside on the homeward leg of the morning Gus walk. Morning light was illuminating these oak leaves, against the shade of the woodland beyond.

I know that technically Summer does not begin for another month, but the closing of the woodland canopy feels like we are making that progression now. The increasing shade on the woodland floor marks the decline of the so-called vernal species - daffodils, bluebells, ramsons, herb Paris and violets which flourish briefly in the Spring when the woodlands are full of light.

I'm sorry if I have been comment-light recently. Tiredness in the evenings has got the better of me, after the early morning woof call, and three walks with Gus (still one to go this evening). I was struggling to concentrate at work this afternoon. I may need to take a couple of days out from blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.