The Stile

Today is the 21st of May. I can hardly believe that we are only one month away from the shortest day here in New Zealand. I love the early morning walks from now on. The sun rises later and it is much easier to capture lovely colourful dawn skies. We had a magnificent dawn sky today. Alas I had decided to trek up a long track called Quail Stream Track and then up a Zig Zag track to the water tanks. This takes me well over half an hour. As I briskly walked I could see the red sky between the enclosing hills. I hurried but once I was on an area of track with a decent view the best was well over. I calculate that if I do walk that route in future I will need to get my timing more accurately sorted. So for today’s blip I have contented myself with an image depicting early light - but well and truly after the reds, pinks and oranges had faded.
The mist across the middle are on the image is steam and smoke being driven in the light wind from the nor-west towards the sea in the east. The sun had just emerged from behind a bank of clouds to the east and was lighting up the stile and other structures on the track just at the Rotary Lookout. Those who went on the early morning trek during the recent PSNZ Convention would have had to cross the stile in order to carry on up the hills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.