misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Blooming Lilac & Lawn

This is my favourite dark purple lilac just opening its first flower. This deliciously fragrant flower is on a very old tree that reaches about 18 feet tall now. Pruning, after the blooms are done this year, will mean sawing that huge branch. I think hope it will bring more life into the lower branches. It is the most fragrant of my lilacs.

The blue and white lawn dotted with gold dandelions and a little mustard yellow can be seen through the lilacs.
Every day I delight in seeing this foot tall wildflower "meadow" growing around my house. There is a permanently wet side to the north that almost never allows mowing.

I am not mowing now-- not only because I love seeing it. Those white flowers are so fragrant that the honey bees are all over it. But, my dear little riding mower is at the hardware store where I bought it. Seems that they have to rebuild the under parts. I can pick it up in July.
Before then the "meadow" will need at least one good mowing. All the flowers will have cast their sees for next spring. The good man who plows me out when the snow gets too deep will come over at the end of this month with his new lawn mower to take it down to just all green. There are a few other wildflowers just getting ready to bloom in there, so I hope they make it before the big mower arrives.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.