Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

N Scale Layout frame takes shape

I got started a week ago on the frame for my new N scale railroad. The blip is of the longest leg of the layout - at the bottom of the plan I blipped on April 28th. The frame is made from 1 by 4 lumber, glued together and held till dry with drywall screws. I have used this method on several layouts and it works fine. The legs are angled back to the wall rather than table leg design. This keeps them out of the way and hopefully away from my knees.

On top of this frame will go a layer of 2", 1 1/2" and 1" stacked extruded styrofoam insulation board. This thickness provides good structural support and gives me plenty of depth for countering the top. And unlike the white stuff you get in computer boxes, it does not turn into a million little snow balls that stick to everything when you cut it.

Next step will be the other leg, on the right side of the layout drawing from the 28th.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.