Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

N scale framework complete

Today I finished up the framework for the new N scale layout. (plan is on a blip from 4-28-14). The layout is an "L" shape, with return loops at either end. There will be a long staging yard along the wall on the other side of the treadmill that is attached to the loop there.

As you can see, the train co-exists in the room with both a large treadmill (my wife's) and my bicycle trainer, affectionally named "the beast". Once I get the staging yard built, I will move the treadmill closer to the wall and also move the bicycle trainer to give me a little more room to operate.

The white shelf you may see that hangs below the frame is to hold the DCC (digital command control) electronics that will control the railroad. This shelf will also hold a short programming track. The programming track is not attached to the layout and is used to test out decoder installations in locomotives, and program the decoder values. A decoders are very small circuit boards that I have installed in each locomotive (50 plus so far - yikes). This control unit on the white shelf will allow me to sit and control every locomotive on the layout, as well as all the switches or turnouts. Add in total control of the sound decoders and it will be a busy little black box. The shelf is actually an old moveable kitchen shelf so that I can pull the shelf out to use the programming track or adjust the electronics, and push it back when done. There will also be room for my old laptop that via a USB cable attached to the control unit as well and provides a powerful tool to program locomotives, and record what I have done. As soon as I figure out the right cable!

On top of the framework will go three laminated layers of extruded polystyrene insulation board - in 2", 1 1/2", and 1" thicknesses. This will be the "earth" on which the track roadbed and track will be attached. That is the next step. The the real fun begins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.