Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

First couple of styrofoam layers

Today I cut the first two layers of styrofoam for my N scale layout. There is a 2" layer on the bottom - basically structural as it spans between the wood supports. Then a layer of 1 1/2" styrofoam on top. I use something called PL300 glue which is safe on foam. Other construction adhesives will melt right through the foam. Yes - they really do. I put a couple of weights on top to hold things in place and exert a little pressure. Tomorrow the glue will be set and I can cut another couple of pieces for the other end of the "L". Yes - the styrofoam does extend above the window sill so I had to cut a little for clearance. But since we never open these windows no harm. Also, not sure I blipped this, but I put a UV film on all the windows in the room. The sun here is so strong that it would attack the paint and models without some sort of shield.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.