Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

The trek to St. Columba Bay on Iona

Dear Diary,

I made the trek out to St. Columba's Bay. It was an arduous scramble over rocks, up hills and through damp muddy patches. I was determine to get there and a very nice local lad went with me. I found two of what they call "St. Columba's tears"...tiny dark green and translucent bits of marble. I chose a "wishing stone" to infuse with all the things I wanted to be rid of and threw it as far out to sea as I could...a symbolic gesture of letting go.

This stone beach reminded me of the one on Campobello Island I visited last September...my beach of metaphors. You can read that post through the link below:

A Beach of Metaphors

The little green stone I will carry home with me. The sailors on the island keep one of these stones in their pockets for good luck. I left my little token, a piece of mica from my home in Maine...the ritual complete.

Walking with less of a burden now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.