Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Lighted Sunset

I was going to go with an agapanthus from the side of the road this morning. Happily, sunset intervened. 8) There were a number of photos I'm pleased with (to be seen in my Flickr photostream - including another Lesser Urban Shopping Trolley), but the one I've chosen for the day is the last I took: the lampposts grabbed me, and I had to charge across the road and photograph them against the sky:

Click to enlampenate.

Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM on Pentax K-30.

This is also just the jpg out of the camera. I tried a few things with the RAW, but really, the camera had done a better job.

With toy shopping I did for kids (put away for now, but good to have in hand), and the photography, I - without noticing - used up the time I had in hand between finishing work and my train departing. I walked in to the Carrington Cellars to get a few things for mrs tsuken, pulled out my iPhone to pull up my list ... and saw the time...

I had ONE MINUTE until my train arrived. O_O Measuring the distance later I reckon it was something over 300m. I turned around, exited shop, took camera out of its Capture clip, to reduce bouncing around, and sprinted.

Welllllll ... sprinted for me, that is: a bit slower than half a proper sprinter's pace xP as I got to the platform just as the train doors shut - meaning about 20 seconds for each 100m. Happily, the doors closest to me were somewhat broken, and so weren't properly shut - and I managed to get on, before a final effort from the guard got them closed. Heaving chest, metallic taste in the mouth, buggered. Happy with the photos though. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.