CoffeePotter

By CoffeePotter

Spider-Cam

I've been cleaning all day. I'm not exaggerating, all day. This is in preparation for our son and his wife and our two little grandchildren. They arrive on Sunday, for their first visit in almost two years. No, we haven't had a row. They live in Taiwan. We went over to see them last year, but it's still almost a year since we met other than on Skype. I don't know why I'm doing all this cleaning, I'm sure I didn't do it when he lived at home ("Aha!" I hear you say, "Maybe that's why he went to live on the other side of the world?")

About 6pm I thought I'd better make the effort to go and vote, seeing as we only have to cross the road to our local hall which is the polling station for our area.

The voting in itself was quite uneventful, especially as there was a large sign up "No Photography" and another "No mobile phones", so I couldn't even sneak a cheeky blip in there.

I came back across the road and walked up our drive past some of the lavender that is not yet in flower (see last night's blip) and what should I see, but a whole bundle of what looked to me like an insect's eggs, inside a web that was attached to some stalks of lavender. I went to fetch my camera and took a few shots, and put them on the computer to have a better look.

They seem to me to be baby spiders. Thousands of them, all in a tight little ball. On some of my photos you can clearly see the legs on some of those around the perimeter.

Now, I'm terrified of spiders, and I've been cleaning all day. If anyone thinks I'm going to budge this happy little ball of arachnids, nestled happily in their mum's web, well I'm not.

At least I've found something worthwhile on the web today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.