Dotty

By Dotty

Green

I don't think I'll overwinter peas again. They've survived, but I think we'll lose a lot of pods in the tangle that the winds and rain have left me with.

I was itching to vote first thing this morning, but wanted to wait until the boys could come with me. It's important they see me voting, important they see the list of parties standing and ask questions about them, and that they see the process. I remember the first time I went to vote: I had no idea and nearly went home terrified of getting it wrong and making a fool of myself. The boys need not to be afraid, and they need to understand that it is their duty to vote.

I was astonished to see not just the one party I was actively voting against, but three. THREE openly racist, xenophobic, homophobic parties in mainstream politics. In 2014. It doesn't bear thinking about.

Girlfriends, baking a courgette cake and talk of muffins put everything back into perspective.

And I'm getting there - another midnight bed, but we came downstairs to a clean kitchen with the breakfast table laid and everything ready for school. I went out for a run while the boys had breakfast and came back to coffee made for me, then had a much more productive day writing. I will do it. Life's too short not to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.