What Do You See…

…in my crystal ball? There was a lovely sunrise this morning. I couldn’t resist playing around with it.

The nor’wester was warm and showery. I worked outside without a coat, not minding the rain. I soon dried. Later the wind picked up to a gale. I was standing in my back doorway looking at my washing flailing. Suddenly a massive gust hit with a thump and a roar. Some of my washing sailed off. Then one whole line cracked like a whip and spiralled across the lawn, dragging my washing in the dirt. I wrestled with the snapping line to get my washing unpegged and off the ground. Nothing for it but to carry the armful in to put it back in the washing machine.

Then I went in search of the escapees. Some I found in the long grass, but one item of underwear was missing. It should have been caught up in the poplars, but obviously had gone further. I clambered down the steep bank thinking how embarrassed I’d be if I had to ask the farmer’s permission to retrieve it from his paddock. Thankfully it was on the ground on my side of the fence.

On the whole, it was not a good day for washing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.