Waimak Pigeons

With the continuing nor’wester, and rain so heavy in the mountains that the road is closed by slips, I went to the Waimakariri Gorge to see if the river was flooded. I left it too late in the day. It was swollen and muddy, but there were signs that it has been a lot higher.

I walked to the beginning of the bridge, but the wind, concentrated by the high cliffs and narrow passage, prevented me from going out on the deck. As it was I could hardly stand up and was afraid of being blown under the wheels of a passing truck.

A flock of pigeons was flying energetically on the downwind side of the bridge. They circled out and down, then up to the bridge. For a moment they were stationary, flapping vigorously against the gale. Then they veered off sideways, circled, and approached the bridge again. I was there for about ten minutes and they were doing this the whole time. There didn’t seem to be any purpose in the activity. I can’t help thinking they were doing it for fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.