The Far Corner

By btocher

Scary

Just catching up on photos here. This is an old one - I'm fine now!

Ann had to phone NHS24 about my chest infection, as the doctor's surgery is closed at weekends. I could hardly draw breath. I wasn't able enough to get to hospital myself, and so they sent a doctor to to the house. I had very high temperature and very low oxygen levels. She immediately fitted me with a nebuliser with oxygen and drugs, and called an ambulance to take me to hospital.

When I arrived at A&E, I was seen immediately by a member of the critical care team and an A&E doctor. They wired me up and put me on a drip, and gave steroids and an antibiotic straight away. I was taken for a chest x-ray too.

Scary times.

The inevitable had to happen at some point, I guess. The respiratory team refused to allow me to go home (quite rightly, as it turned out). I had nine lots of drugs altogether via the nebuliser that day, and was on oxygen the whole time. So - my first overnight stay in a hospital. Who'da thunk it?

I was in the assessment ward, nearest to A&E, so the early hours of the morning were pretty unpleasant. There was a dealer two beds up from me, who threatened the nurses at one point.

I didn't sleep at all. At 03:10, a nurse stopped by "Hi darlin' - we've found a ward for you." That really was great news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.