Isafjordur

An amazing little fishing port in the Western Fjords (top left hand corner of Iceland).

It rained but perhaps this was more typical. I had decided not to book any tourist trips. I just walked into town with a group of friends I've made this week and it was perhaps the most fascinating day so far. A tiny place, snow on the edge of the fjord, an airstrip that is on one side (we saw a small plane land, passing alongside the Voyager).

I wanted to try the local food so I did the unthinkable. (Nobody ever eats ashore from a cruise when you've paid for your meals already).

The restaurant next to the Heritage Museum was well reviewed on Tripadvisor and worth it.

I asked for the menu. "I'll talk to you," said the lady. Well, she had a chart with the locally caught fish in pictures and four languages.

The fish soup was superb (caught last night as it all had been). And I had "catfish in cream" that the son said was his favourite. Along with a Viking beer it really wasn't as horrendously expensive as I had been prepared for.

I don't think I'll be having much dinner tonight. (And anyway, the captain says it's going to be force 8).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.