Cai Shen mask

I'm a bit lost for a Blip subject today. I've done my beetle watch and found no beetle, I did find the tiniest of spider and obviously I did take pictures of it, but I've rejected these as not good enough, too shallow a DoF to show enough of the beastie in focus.

I've done the usual house chores, and gymnastics and worked on photo assignments, and (surprise, surprise) I took pictures of flowers, but nothing that struck me as a suitable subject for today's Blip.

So I was stuck and as an emergency I've taken a picture of one of the miniature Chinese opera masks from a case with 5 of these, a souvenir gift. It's about 5 inches high. According to the labels on the case this is Zheng Cai Shen Zhao Gong Ming, or the Chinese god of prosperity. very important within the range of Chinese deities. I wonder why there wasn't a more prominent role for a god of health instead of a god of wealth...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.