Day trip

Today we went to Kirkcudbright, where I was playing with the Samba Sisters at the Half Marathon. Not as hot as last year, but the rain stayed away and we enjoyed our drumming.

This weekend is also the Spring Fling, where artists' studios across Dumfries and Galloway are open to visitors. We went to a few in Kirkcudbright, and then stopped off on the way home atBarnbarroch pottery in Rockcliffe. This is run by Christine and Rodger Smith. Christine has also drummed with the Samba Sisters and I am a big fan of her artwork. It always surprised me that her studio is full of huge machines (such as clay extruders) - pottery is a very physical activity. This bus sits in the courtyard outside and shows the humour often evident in Christine's work.

I bought a mug with oyster catchers on it. I've already enjoyed using it for a welcome cuppa when we got back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.