Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

Salad

I had every intention to get to the Swiftsure start this morning. It's a glorious sight to watch them all shooting off toward Race Rocks when there's a bit of a blow.

I did indeed wake at 6.30am, as planned, but I was ever so worn out from the battle with my new electric hedge trimmer on Friday evening. I wouldn't have moved at all, except for Cats pathetic warbling. She's starved and terribly mistreated, you know, and it seems I'm her only hope.

So, I scooped a measure of finest crunchy bits into Cats bowl, poked my head out the back door ... and all was terribly calm!

Went back to bed.

I've seen a becalmed Swiftsure before. It was hundreds of boats bobbing around the start line and every ten minutes the air horn would blow off and that starts spinnakers would unfurl, and all the crew were stood on the deck beneath, huffing and puffing into it to budge it forward a yard or two! And the previous start was then only all of five yards out! I don't get out of bed for windless Swiftsures anymore.

Or foggy ones. Oh god, thick fog it was in 2002. Nothing to be seen.

How Dragonfly managed to get back so quickly today is a mystery!

Yachting's an altogether dodgy bit of business. Although, I must say the club newsletters are always an excellent read.

Anyway ... salad ... the nasturtiums are heading into a bumper crop. I might have to actually thin them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.