The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Caen Hill Locks

At my last visit to the Caen Hill flight of locks I had seen a pair of swans nesting at the the Boto-X Lock near the top, and I had heard that they had produced half a dozen cygnets, and so I went back to see them and record them for Blip. When I arrived, they were in the lock in front of Caen Hill Café, so it seemed rude not to go in and have a coffee and some cake to accompany watching them. A couple of boats were going through but great care was taken to make sure that no harm came to the swan family in the process.

The dredger that lives in the basin behind the café was also out doing a circuit, the first time I have seen it in use. The swans and cygnets came through the lock gates into the top side pond and swam in procession to the bank diagonally opposite and came ashore. I had anticipated where they would land and was ready with my camera when they arrived.

The six were now five as sadly an uncontrolled dog being walked on the towpath had killed one the previous Sunday, as this sign warned.

L.
25.5.2014 (1015)

Blip #1271
Consecutive Blip #133
Day #1510

A Visit To The Caen Hill Locks, 13 May 2014 (Flickr album)

Lens: Pentax 17-70mm, Pentax 55-300mm x1.4

Canals series
Caen Hill series
Kennet and Avon Canal series
Swan series
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Natalie Merchant - Texas (recorded live, 13 May 2014, Later... with Jools Holland)

One year ago: Fluffy 1129hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.