misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

Blue Columbine just started blooming

This is the 2nd year for this plant that I started from seed. It is quite large now, as you can see, and full of blooms. (sigh) I like it well enough but it is not the blue columbine for which I have searched for years now. What I seek is the simple (non-hybrid) sky-blue and white one. The columbine that is the State of Colorado"s flower.
This one, as for a lot of the columbines I grow, is of the stealentius variety. A friend from South Africa introduced me to this sub-species well known down there. Her great Aunt Josephine procured a reportedly vast number of her unusual flowers by nipping a dead head and allowing the seeds to grow in her garden. Not exactly stealing-- more like transplanting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.