The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

New Life

No, not whiskey in the jar, but mung beansprouts! Ordered some 'pro' sprouting jars online today, but for now we're using glass storage jars on their sides.

Today was a GOOD day. Steve, Jane and I had breakfast together, then Jane left for her home in London. We hope she'll come back for my picnic next month. Then after some faffing around, I managed to do some serious weeding/ground clearance tasks in the garden. I want to plant up a rose bed, but first I had to clear away nettles, brambles, sticky willie, and those pink-flower weeds that are so prolific. I had intended to take a 'before' and 'after' shot, but I forgot the before!

Got some lunch together, continued weeding in the front garden. The cute tabbby that we call Cabby has been back again, and he and Bomble had a very operatic fight in the neighbour's garden. I am definitely not thinking of adopting him, even if he were on the register. Continued to process several loads of washing, then had a bath to ease my aches, and came down to watch the 80s film, Big, which I had never seen before. Also managed to finish my book (the Paris Wife, about Paris and Hemingway's first wife in the 1920s) and listen to some of my audiobook (The One Plus One, by JoJo Moyes).

Then we had a colourful supper of roasted root veg, mixed salad with beansprouts, topped with Stilton and chopped nuts, accompanied by oak smoked ham. Dale Pinnock's Healthy Every Day is my current favourite source of kitchen inspiration, because his recipes are so, so simple; they really work; and, above all, they look fabulous!

And now there is still a bank holiday menu of television to watch, plus the whole of next week stretching ahead, because it's half term! Sunshine has returned, just in time for the holidays. Happy days, for those of us in England on half term. Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.