Orkney Day 2

A curlew. The first time I've ever seen a real one! A magic moment.

We've had another great day. A visit from the lovely blipper Poppy first thing. She has been instrumental in our visit here and together with Lady Findhorn, both of them inspired me to start blipping nearly two years ago after LF's visit to the Orkneys; their wonderful pictures and journals caught my imagination and now I'm here exploring this wonderful island and enjoying every minute of it, despite the traditional island weather.

We've explored Scapa, the stunning Italian Chapel and a lot more of the island stopping at many viewpoints one of which was at Loch of Kirbister where I saw this Curlew, lots of Blackheaded Gulls, Oyster Catchers and some Greylag Geese with young.

Poppy very kindly invited T and I for dinner. We had a wonderful evening with her and her husband and Ollie. The men got on famously and us two ladies did too, so much to talk about and it wasn't all about Blip!! Thank you P for your hospitality and for all your kind help and advice in respect of our travels here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.