A Good Hare Day!

A wet, cold and dreich morning watching Niamh play in a hockey tournament left me wondering why I had ventured out at all.
My feet were wet, my shoulders were wet (my jacket seams are obviously past their best!) and I was chilled to the bone - not that the young hockey player noticed as they played brilliantly in pretty extreme circumstances.
Heading homewards in the afternoon, the sun dared to peep out - after a whole morning getting soaked...

There is a field on the way home that we often see hares so I was half watching whilst half dreaming of a hot bath.

And there they were!

Not one, not two but three beautiful hares.
There seemed to be a love triangle going on.
What seemed to be a bonded pair were being stalked by a single hare but every time he got near them, the other (presumably) male chased him.

I shot some photos from the car then dared sneak out and kneel in the mud at the fence.

I could have stayed all day watching them - when I mentioned that to Niamh as I got back in the car, she informed me that it had felt like the whole day! I think she was a bit bored by it all really!

It was a complete hare overdose - over 100 shots.

Very difficult to choose the Blip but I like this one - he just seems so relaxed. He has no idea a wind swept and soggy middle-aged woman was watching through the lens!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.