Icy footsteps

I really did feel sorry for all the nine-to-fivers who had to go back to work today, and was really glad I wasn't one of them. Our not-so-wonderful city council hasn't exactly covered itself in glory when it comes to coping with the frosty conditions. Main routes are clear, though I suspect this is more to do with the level of traffic than any gritting which may have happened. Away from the main routes, conditions are still treacherous, and I found myself seriously considering as the day went by that it might be a good idea to tip-toe the car cagily away from outside home and park it someone else where the roads aren't as bad. I didn't follow through with this, only getting as far as sitting in the car and turning the engine over to avoid complications with battery and electrics.

I needed to do a bit of shopping, and seriously considered taking the car to do it, but sense won out in the end and I walked instead, more or less following yesterday's round-the-block route to combine shopping needs with a little constitutional. Even on the roads which were clear, the paths were slippy and treacherous, so a really short walk took much longer than it normally would. I was glad to get back home still in one piece.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.