Sunshiney

There seemed to be a change in the weather today. The sun shone brightly from a clear blue sky all day long, roofs on houses and cars became frost-free, and pavements began to clear of ice. It began cold, though, and stayed cold as well. I did the old start-the-engine thing with the car to guard against battery and electrics problems and had to turn on the heating full-blast and pour a couple of kettlesful of hot water on the windscreen before it would clear (it was so heavily frosted over with the overnight sub-zero temperatures that the wipers wouldn't even move, never mind shift the ice).

Still, it all looked nice and bright and crisp, and by 2.15 or so I was ready to venture out for a decent walk rather than the wimpy round-the-block strolls I've been limited to the past few days. I walked down the Malahide Road to Fairview and back, which is ten times as far as I've managed to go recently. The footpaths weren't too bad as long as you kept to the sides and aimed for the bits where the ice had shifted. Only once did I feel things a bit dodgy underfoot, so maybe the forecast isn't far off when it promises an end to the icy conditions on Thursday.

It really was all very bright and sunny and crisp and rather pleasant. The bright blue sky and the red paintwork on this neighbourhood house did my heart good, it really did. Mind you, my feet were like the proverbial blocks of ice by the time I got home, and I wasn't at all unhappy to get back inside and thaw them out.

=====

I can't explain why, but even though I've had plenty of time to do it, I still managed to get behind with my blip uploads, so I've now back blipped Sunday and Monday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.