Sydney

By Sydney

The ferry I missed

This is a photo of the ferry that I missed. The second ferry I missed actually, on my way to visit my father. Lew is very patient but even he was beginning to occasionally whine wistfully from the rear of the car when he wasn't smearing his nose along the window glass following seagulls in their flight. He resembles someone watching a tennis match: left then right, back and forth, a pop up for one that steals in low over the roof of the car then loops around to bring him back to his starting position of his left to right, back and forth sweep again. I generally keep him in the car once he's settled as he is finding it challenging to jump in and out, but I often go back to clean the window he's nosing. I need to purchase some sort of ramp for him so he doesn't need to struggle. He's a bit too big to lift and he doesn't like it so he wiggles when I try.

The trip that typically takes 90 minutes, my house to dad's, was 4 and 1/2 hours! But the clouds made for wonderful watching and with my Kindle, Lew and a thermos of tea I was very content indeed. I tend not to rail against that which I am helpless to change, I don't like to be unhappy! And it is one of the expected considerations of visiting my father who now lives in a well visited part of our state. Not that many people live there, but many, many travel there on holidays and weekends to enjoy the inherent beauty. Dad has found a haven, to be sure, and I plan to take advantage of his research to retire there someday as well. I invite you all to come visit anytime, except on a Friday evening in the summer when you will spend much of the weekend on the ferry dock :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.