No 163: Cuckoo

I've been waiting for the forecast of a fine, bright morning to check out a local spot recommended to me by Andy, my bird ID guy, to find Tree Pipits, which I've been trying to learn to tell apart from Meadow Pipits. Today was the day, so I was up and out by 6am. I quite soon found what I was fairly confident was a Tree Pipit, so I took a photo, and to be doubly sure, recorded its song. BirdBlip no. 163 in the bag! I had heard a couple of Cuckoos calling, but didn't really expect to see one, until I saw a commotion, which turned out to be small birds mobbing this Cuckoo. It was quite a way off, so quite a heavy crop, but a Cuckoo in flight definitely trumped a Tree Pipit.
Typical - apart from my fluky Grey Partridge in Norfolk, it's been ages since I got a new bird blip, and then 2 come along at once. Hopefully I'll be able to find the Tree Pipit again.
I hope everyone is enjoying their Bank Holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.