2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Hummingbirds and laboratory visits

Headed out to the Salk and Scripps Institutes again to talk to several scientists and to give a lunchtime talk.

We had to split up at one point with me staying to finish a talk while my colleague did another lab visit. We arranged to meet up outside another lab. While I was waiting and trying to keep out of the full sun, I saw loads of tiny red jewelled hummingbirds flitting in and out of this red flowered shrub. They were really noisy and a joy to watch. I could have stayed there all day. I'n not sure if this is an Anna's hummingbird.

After our last visit we headed back into the city for lunch (even though it was around 4 pm, neither of us had eaten all day).

My colleague came back to my hotel room to change before she set off home. I had a quiet evening packing and looking at emails. Looking forward to a day off work tomorrow before the flight home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.